Tot School 33.5mo Twins – Chicka Chicka Boom Boom

We are into reading around here and I can’t complain.  From age 1-2.5yr my boys were into eating the books, not reading them so I’m taking advantage of this reading stage.  I like reading Chicka Chicka Boom Boom and using lots of different voices so the boys giggle and stay interested.  I love what Train Up a Child did for an activity to go with this story.    It’s a super cute palm tree with the alphabet.  Check it out at http://trainupachildlearnaswego.blogspot.com/2013/03/chicka-chicka-boom-boom-alphabet-tree.html

DSC_0874

When I finally got an hour during nap time, I quickly free hand drew a palm tree with coconuts using Train Up a Child’s photo as a visual guide.  I can not draw, but this is super easy so don’t be afraid to try it.  I layered up my green construction paper, drew the leaf on the top  and cut the whole stack at once.  Any color of brown will work for the trunk as well as the coconuts.  I hoped over to Confessions of a Homeschooler for the cute alphabet printable http://shared.confessionsofahomeschooler.com/phonics/ChickaboomAlpha.pdf.  Next I put everything onto laminating sheets and sealed them up.  All of that barely took 10min.  What took the rest of my hour was cutting out all the laminated letters.  It’s worth the time though, I can reused these for so many different things besides this one tree.  I then used lock tac putty on the back to secure it to a door in our living room.

DSC_0870

 

When my boys got up from their nap, they were so excited to see the tree.  So excited that we couldn’t pay attention to read the book.   I pulled out my stack of alphabet letters and asked the boys to find the A &B letters.  I put some putty on the back of the letters and I let the boys put them wherever they wanted on the tree.

DSC_0871DSC_0873

 

 

 

 

 

 

The jumped around in front of the tree and we sang the alphabet song.  By then the boys had calmed down enough that we could read our book.  Throughout the summer we will be reading this book again and adding more letters each time we read it.  The boys loved this activity so I expect we will have more energetic jumping and crazy letter placing on our tree in the future.  What a mercy to have a cute, cheap, little tree that make my boys happy.

Leave a Reply

