Tot School 31.5mo Twins – X Marks the Spot

DSC_0587

While the boys finished up breakfast this morning, I told them a tale about treasure being buried in our house.  That if we followed a map we would surely find the treasure.  I asked the boys what treasure was.  James wouldn’t say but Lance said it was jellybeans.  I told them that treasure is something that’s valuable, like pirate’s gold.  I grabbed a Texas road map from our travel draw and we pretended to follow it until we found the X that marked the spot.  I had made a giant X on the living room floor using blue painters tape.  There in the middle of the X was 6 pieces of cut up, yellow colored, pipe cleaners – our gold.  I declared that we were all official pirates.  I even made the boys learn how to say YoHo & Arrgh.  My pirates walked the lines of the X, hopped on the lines and crawled the lines.  It was an Xcelent time talking about the letter X.

DSC_0586

I divided out the 6 pieces of yellow pipe cleaners to the boys.  I whispered and said I had a secret.  They came close and I said that this was rare and very precious gold that had been lost for a thousand years so they needed to take very good care of it.  As you can see in the pictures, they held up the gold pieces as if to say, “It’s mine, all mine, glorious treasure,”  they got the greedy pirate part down.  I suggested that they keep it stored in a safe place.  So I brought out a special treasure chest, ie: a cleaned out cool whip container with holes punched in the top using an ice pick.  I told them they could put the gold through the holes and it would stay nice and safe.  So they did just that and then took the top off and kept re-adding it back into the treasure box.  It gave my pirates some hand/eye coordination practice.

DSC_0588

 

DSC_0589DSC_0590

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We were having a friend come over later for lunch so mommy pretended that the house was our pirate ship.  I gave the orders for all pirates mates on hand to swab out the deck.  I handed out the brooms and then rags as we swept and shined the windows all while listening to some cool Caribbean island tunes.DSC_0594

 

I jokingly said the ship was in a deplorable state so they had to walk the plank.  I pulled out a 4×6 board from the wood shop and laid it in the middle of our living room.  The boys immediately had fun walking and running down the plank.  I gave them a few runs then when they started to fall off, I snapped at them and said there were hungry sharks and alligators in the water waiting to eat them.  After a few more runs, when they got to the end and they jumped off I made splashing sounds and then grabbed them, declaring they had jumped into the dreaded Bermuda Triangle of Tickles.  I then proceeded to tickle them vigorously before letting them go around again.

 

 

DSC_0593

My little pirates had one last adventure before lunch, they got to look for sunken treasure.  I took a small bin, added 4 shape pieces, 4 plastic animals and 4 gold plastic coins to a tub full of soapy water with a hint of blue coloring added to look like the blue waters of the Caribbean.  I laid out a shower curtain and put a piece of paper on each side with the names of the objects they would find.  Then I let the boys dive into the bubbles to find their treasure.  Lance was all about getting the treasure and sorting it while James liked to play in the bubbles.  They had some trouble understanding the sorting so I had to help out a bit.  This was their first true sorting exercise.

DSC_0596DSC_0603

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSC_0597

 

DSC_0599

To round off our pirate day that began with the letter X, we settled down to read the Veggie Tales Bible.    Larry and Bob were pirates.  The story was about laying up treasure in heaven.  With all the fun that we had today being greedy, gold seeking pirates, I pray that my boys will learn to share their treasures, be kind and be wise with all that God gives them.

Leave a Reply

