Mom School – Orange Polish

I started on my 365 day no yelling challenge the day after Valentines.  So far I’ve managed to not yell on only 5 out of the 10 days.  Sigh!!!  The good news is that I’ve met my goal 50% of the days and on the days that I did yell, it was only one short yelling episode.  That in itself should make me feel better, but I don’t like to fail so I don’t feel better, yet.  Tomorrow I’m joining up with the official Orange Rhino 30 day challenge.  I’m so excited.  This is a mom who has been and still is working on being yell free.  She will be emailing daily tips on how to manage anger and yelling.  I can’t wait to see all the tips, read other’s stories so I’m reminded that I’m not alone in this and to better understand myself. 

In preparation for this coming month I’ve done two things so far.  I’ve been thinking about what triggers my anger and yelling.  You can’t fix what you don’t understand or know.  I know I’ll discover other triggers, but for now I know that not getting enough sleep is the number one trigger.  Before my children came along I could sleep in and catch up on my sleep.  Now that  isn’t an option.  I need a lot of sleep.  More than the average person.  I need to be asleep by 9:30PM.  No fudging reading just one more chapter of a good book or another few questions in my bible study.  There needs to be no excuses on this one.  I can’t look at my kids and say mommy  was irresponsible and stayed up too late so please ignore my bad mood and yelling.  I’m an adult so I need to practice more self-control at night.  Another trigger is whining.  Oh my, does constant whining get to me.  I don’t know how to manage this one yet, but I’m searching for solutions.  My other big trigger is disrespect.  Basically I’m a very prideful person.  I didn’t realize just how much until my boys turned 8mo old and discipline started when they started exerting their own wills.  Nothing gets me riled up like one of my children blatantly disregarding my commands and smiling or telling me the no command while they disobey.  It raises my blood pressure just thinking about it to write this down.  This will be a two-phase problem; one, working on my reaction and pride and two, working on the boys’ obedience.

While looking on the Orange Rhino site, I came across a great little gimmick to remind me to control my emotions.  I’ve painted my finger nails orange.  Orange is not my favorite color.  It clashes with most of my wardrobe.  But my orange nails go everywhere with me, I use my hands all the time and it will be a great reminder to hold my tongue, take a few deep breaths and to control my anger.  It’s a goofy little thing, but what a constant reminder.  So when you see me friends, don’t laugh too hard at my ugly polish because this strange color represents my love for my children, by reminding me not to yell.

DSC_0356

Leave a Reply

