Tot School 28mo Twins – M is for Music & Moving Books

Again, we are a sickly bunch so I used some low energy M activities today.  Reading books was at the top of my kid’s list, but mom’s voice wasn’t holding well.  I got out some newer books that have movable parts.  I was able to sit each boy down in the floor with two of these books and get a 15 min rest.  Their little voices are so cute as they were saying up, down, pull out or whatever motion that they were doing on each page.  James made some great racing cars sounds as he was looking through a monster trucks book.  After my quick rest, we ran around kitchen pretending to be race cars then we headed to the couch for a pit stop.

DSC_02451DSC_02441

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              Music was our next activity.  I love music and I can come up with a thousand things to do with music.  For today, here’s what we did. 

 

We sang in a microphone.  They thought mom was crazy when i sang The Star Bangled Banner.

We sang in a microphone. They thought mom was crazy when I sang The Star Spangled Banner.

Danced to our own latin beat with the maracas.

Danced to our own latin beat with the maracas.

Made some groovy rythyms with a wooden knocker and stick.

Made some groovy rhythms with a wooden knocker and stick.

Lastly we made water music.  I put different amounts of water in glasses.  I gave the boys a metal fork and let them bang on each glass.  I pointed out that they should use their ears to hear how the sound goes higher with less water.  This was a winner.  They banged on the outside of the glass, dipped the fork inside as the banged it in a circle inside, took the maracas and used those as a mallet too.  This went on for quite a while until James decided to bat a glass off the table.  Need less to say, the water music was over and mom had to clean up the glass.  Even with a broken glass, it was a good time.

DSC_0252DSC_0250

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am so grateful for music.  It’s been a part of my life since I was young like my twin boys.  I count it a beautiful mercy that my boys love music too.

Leave a Reply

