When The Climbing Gets To Be Too Much

My morning, sigh.  It did not go well.  It started out good with a big breakfast, watching Sid the Science Kid and doing a snowflake craft, which I’ll post about tomorrow.  Then the morning fell apart.  Mainly two things happened and repeated and repeated and repeated.  The first is that James has an insatiable desire to climb.  He found the small activity table, the push car, kitchen chair, slide, arm of a chair, high chair, stepladder, stack of books and a dump truck to reach things that he should not be getting into.  Things off the kitchen counters, the blinds, my wedding portrait, medicines and the list goes on.   Lance watches to get new ideas from his twin brother.  No amount of instructing, redirecting, spanking and downright yelling made a difference in their behavior this morning.  I even started taking away the things that they climbed on.  The second thing this morning was the never-ending fighting over toys.  I finally resorted to removing those items too.

I just put the twins down for a much-anticipated nap, mommy was the one anticipating.  As I was walking into the office I just stopped and stared at this mountain of toys that the boys lost just during this morning.  It rivals the heighth of Mt. Everest.  I’m still frustrated over their behavior, my yelling and wondering what I’m going to do to make this afternoon better.  I seriously need an attitude lift!

And that is just what I got when I opened up my email from The Mob Society.  The following poem made me laugh and reminded me that moms of boys everywhere have days like mine.  I now have a lighter spirit and will start the afternoon fresh.  If you haven’t seen The Mob Society, aka Moms Of Boys Society, check it out.  It has been a breath of fresh air that frequently makes me laugh.  Enjoy the poem!

The 12 Days of Christmas, Boy Edition

*On the FIRST day of Christmas, my sweet son gave to me:

A kiss by the Christmas tree.   (Awe, so sweet)

 

*On the SECOND day of Christmas my sweet son gave to me:

2 Temper Tantrums (at the grocery store, no less)

And a kiss by the Christmas tree (still sweet)

 

*By the THIRD day of Christmas, my sweet son gave to me:

3 Cars a Crashin’ (Crashing into the wall that is)

2 Temper Tantrums

And a kiss by the Christmas tree (much needed)

 

*On the FOURTH day of Christmas, my sweet son gave to me:

4 Balls a Bouncin’ (off the windows and doors)

3 Cars a Crashin’

2 Temper Tantrums

And a kiss by the Christmas Tree (he’d better)

 

*On the FIFTH day of Christmas my sweet son gave to me:

5 Mommmmmmy Meltdowns

4 Balls a Bouncin’

3 Cars a Crashin’

2 Temper Tantrums

And a kiss by the Christmas tree (it’s the least he could do, right?)

 

*On the SIXTH day of Christmas, my sweet son gave to me:

6 Left-Out Legos  (stepped on by yours truly)

5 Mommmmmy Meltdowns

4 Balls a Bouncin’

3 Cars a Crashin’

2 Temper Tantrums

And a kiss by the Christmas tree (what can I say, he knows how to work it).

 

*On the SEVENTH day of Christmas, my sweet son gave to me:

7 Snowballs Flyin’  (in the house, mind you)

6 Left-Out Legos 

5 Mommmmmmy Meltdowns

4 Balls a Bouncin’

3 Cars a Crashin’

2 Temper Tantrums

And a kiss by the Christmas tree (in need of a hug or two at this point as well).

 

*On the EIGHTH day of Christmas, my sweet son gave to me:

8 Trains a Tootin’ (very loudly that is)

7 Snowballs Flyin’

6 Left-Out Legos

5 Mommmmmmy Meltdowns

4 Balls a Bouncin’

3 Cars a Crashin’

2 Temper Tantrums

And a kiss by the Christmas tree (he’s lucky he’s cute, right?)

 

*On the NINTH day of Christmas my sweet son gave to me:

 Puddles Splashed-in (and drug through the house)

8 Trains a Tootin’

7 Snowballs Flyin’  

6 Left-Out Legos

5 Mommmmmmy Meltdowns

4 Balls a Bouncin’

3 Cars a Crashin’

2 Temper Tantrums

And a kiss by the Christmas tree (gee, you think?)

 

*On the TENTH day of Christmas, my sweet son gave to me:

10 Peaked-at Presents (I mean, really?)

Puddles Splashed-in 

8 Trains a Tootin’

7 Snowballs Flyin’  

6 Left-Out Legos

5 Mommmmmmy Meltdowns

4 Balls a Bouncin’

3 Cars a Crashin’

2 Temper Tantrums

And a kiss by the Christmas tree (sigh).

 

*On the ELEVENTH day of Christmas, my sweet son gave to me:

11 Turns in Time-Out (Eleven…and counting)

10 Peaked-at Presents 

Puddles Splashed-in 

8 Trains a Tootin’

7 Snowballs Flyin’  

6 Left-Out Legos

5 Mommmmmmy Meltdowns

4 Balls a Bouncin’

3 Cars a Crashin’

2 Temper Tantrums

And a kiss by the Christmas tree (talk about patience being tested!)

 

*By the TWELFTH day of Christmas, my sweet son gave to me:

IN-SANNNN-ITY! (I finally cracked)

11 Turns in Time-Out

10 Peaked-at Presents 

 Puddles Splashed-in 

8 Trains a Tootin’

7 Snowballs Flyin’  

6 Left-Out Legos

5 Mommmmmmy Meltdowns

4 Balls a Bouncin’

3 Cars a Crashin’

2 Temper Tantrums

And a kiss by the Christmas tree (Oh, how I love that boy!)

Leave a Reply

