Catching Up

Wow, I’ve had a very busy and very hard past two weeks.  Hence the void in my blog.  We’ve been to the state fair, dealt with sickness, doctor visits, near  accidents, two bible studies and the list could go on.  At the top of the list is my twins’ terrible twos disobedience.  By the time I’ve warned, given consequences, followed through only to turn around and do it again for brother countless times during the day, I’ve been too tired to write about it.  So let’s just say, it was bad.  Moms will have times like this and I’m praying my bad attitude about it will disappear too.  What has gone well during this chaos that I credit as God’s mercies?  Let’s talk about that shall we?

The color for the month is orange and the shape is a circle.  We had a friend over last week to do crafts with us.  My favorite was using marshmallows to paint orange circles all over construction paper.  Of course my boys decided to try a few bites, paint and all.

 

There’s a crazy tale to tell about how I got the beads for our stringing activities.  I went to a local craft store and got a bag of wooden beads, but they are way too expensive so I decided to go to a local discount bead place.  Mind you, the boys were still tired from going to the fair the day before so I should have known.  The boys decided it would be fun to yell.  I finally took them outside, let them scream all they wanted, went back inside only to find that they started screaming again and they were laughing about it.  The cashier was giving me looks, I wasn’t concentrating and that was when one of the boys pulled over a loose bead display.  I was horrified.  I couldn’t possibly sort and pickup all the scattered beads while my boys continued to scream.  I quickly purchased what I had in my hands, apologizing as I went, got out the car, looked at my receipt and realized that a few of my beads were more expensive than what I thought they were and ended paying the same amount as the craft store bag, but with far less beads.  We went home with my very expensive collection of beads.  I am so thankful that the boys loved stringing the beads.  We used shoe strings because it has a great stiff end for the initial threading and the thickness keeps the beads from sliding off the other end.

 

I bought two baby pumpkins and we had a ball with them.  They are the perfect color orange and somewhat of a circle.  So we talked about that.  Then I gave the boys a paint brush each with some green washable paint and let them go to it.  Then I showed them how to sprinkle a little glitter onto the wet paint.  I have to say it looks pretty good after it dried.  It’s now sitting in my entryway.  This morning, I didn’t get any pics of doing this, but we took the other pumpkin, a nail and one of dad’s hammers.  I let the boys hold the hammer and I just guided the end so it would hit the nail and not my kitchen floor.  We pounded holes all over that pumpkin.  I’ll be gutting it out tonight and setting a small candle in it so light will pour out of all the holes.  It should be pretty.

 

The best day of the last two weeks was fair day.  Learning was around every corner.  From petting animals, naming them, making their sounds, watching African dancers, seeing quilts, watching puppets and playing in cars.  The fair offers a lot all packaged into fun.  I’m hoping that next week will settle down a bit so I can go back to taking pictures of our tot school and have the time and energy to write about them.  I pray that you will have a good week too.

Leave a Reply

