Tot School 23mo twins –

This morning’s tot school was rocking even though I’m feeling the effects of allergies.  The boys had an abundance of energy again.  I decided that now would be a good time to let them learn about chores.  I pulled out the vacuum cleaner and vacuumed most of the living room and then I asked both of the boys to try their hand at it.   They did great together.  The key is together, without their brother, each one wasn’t strong enough to push the vacuum by himself.  So I gave a little teamwork talk as they worked happily around the room.  Note, keep an eye on your little one so they don’t run over the cord.

 

This week we’ve been reading the story of Joshua and Jericho.   They’ve quit saying Ah Oh Jericho and they’ve learned to say Joshua & Jericho.  So we did a little impromptu acting of the story.  I found a left over roll of butcher paper, spiraled it out and taped it to make our trumpet.  Then I got the boys to march around the kitchen island just like the Israelites.  I made up a silly song about marching around Jericho to keep the beat.  We, well I, did a lively jig when we got back to our starting point each round.  The boys just laughed at me but I know it kept them interested.  When we got back to the start after the seventh time, I stopped, pulled out my trumpet and blew it as loud as I could yell.   I gave it to each boy and had him yell.  Then I fell down and declared the walls were tumbling down.  Lance thought I was so funny and decided he would fall down too.  James is not my follower so he just smiled and walked away.  It was a fun way to get the boys to understand the story better and I think they enjoyed it.

 

We used a different method today to work on counting.  We have those obnoxious hand clappers and the boys were going to town clapping them.  I decided that if I had to listen to that racket then I would at-least get some usefulness out of it.  I took them and wrote 1-5 on the fingers.  We all counted them out loud, then we pointed to each finger as we counted and then I let the boys go.  The noise was still just as annoying but it makes it better when you hear the counting with the claps.

 

While I may be feeling groggy from my allergy meds today, God has rained down the mercies by giving me strength to have fun marching, blowing, playing and teaching my twins.  May God be your strength when you’re not at your best as a mom.

2 comments on “Tot School 23mo twins –

  1. Sherry says:

    Hi! Nice to meet you from the MOB. Your little ones look so precious, and I love how you use these teaching moments throughout your day with them. Boys love the story of Joshua and the battle of Jericho and that was a great way to teach it to them and keep their attention!

    • bitebright says:

      Wow, I checked out your blog. Your kiddos are so cute and I love the beach pics. I’m new to MOB so I’m excited to read about all these moms with great boys.

      Stephanie

Leave a Reply

