Interrupted

After only a week of being a mom, you know that your life will be interrupted a millions times and it’s never at a convenient time.  Some days those interruptions are no big deal, but there are days when one more interruption just might put you over the edge.  Those are the days that I learn just how selfish I am.  I really thought that I was fairly unselfish before I had kids.  What I now know is that I like doing for others, but thanks are greatly appreciated and keeps me going.  Children should have been wired to praise their parents from a young age, but that’s not how God designed them and I think He did that so I would see my own sinfulness and turn to Him.

I was thinking about all the times that Jesus was interrupted.  Arguments from the Pharisees while He was teaching, the disciples interrupting when children were gathered at His feet, soldiers arresting Him while He prayed in the garden and His own mother interrupting festivities at a wedding to make wine and the list goes on.  Christ knew interruptions well and He handled them well.  So what can I learn from this?  At least three things that I can see right now.

1.  Jesus came to serve and servants don’t have their own will as priority.  They are willing to be interrupted, that’s part of the action of serving.  If it were me and I was partying at a friend’s wedding and someone asked me to go work instead of enjoying myself, it would make me mad.  I would be thinking the nerve of that person to ask me to do a favor to them when I’m trying to relax and have some fun.  I would no doubt be thinking that this was my time away from my kids, I was paying for that babysitter, eating good food and dancing a rare slow dance with my husband.  Helping out would take away from my ME time.  How many times have I heard and have said to myself that I don’t get enough ME time?  Way too many times.  Not that ME time is bad, but I want it far too often.  I also remember in James that Paul says that he doesn’t deserve praise because he is only doing what he should already be doing as a servant.  Wow, I think I need to put this up on fridge so I’ll see it throughout the day.

2.  Jesus was gracious with His time and serving.  I however seem to have an attitude of inconvenience when my kids come calling at times.  You know the times.  When your kids should be sleeping, you are working on that scrapbook page and you have only one more thing that you need to cut and glue down.  You are working as fast as you can but you cut wrong and have to do it over.  You can’t find your glue stick or you misspell something because you are hurrying.  All the while the crying is getting louder and you know your child is saying hello, I’m in here and I need you because I can’t get out on my own.  Hello!!!!  Be responsible and be the parent!!!!  So in great irritation I put my things away, leaving it undone, and go pick up my two boys.  My mind usually stays on what I wish I could have gotten done.  I’m cranky with the boys and I don’t get to cherish that sweet moments with them.  The times when I could be enjoying that they want me, want to sit in my lap, want mom to hold them in my lap with my arms around them.  The day will come when I’ll only have those memories because they will have their independence and I’ll want those moments back.  How sweet is it to watch a gentle mom caring for her children and enjoying her time with them, her soft voice, her caring touch and her attention to the details of her children.  It reminds me of the Proverbs 31 mom, who cares for her family with love and in return her children call her blessed.

3.  How well do I perform the tasks asked of me when I’ve been interrupted?  Many times I do it quickly and not to the best of my ability.  If I were Jesus at the wedding, I would have made  general old wine and be done with it.  Probably saying to myself that they should have planned better.  But Jesus did the opposite.  The wine was so lovely that the guest thought the bride and groom were saving the best for them.  I’m sure He made that family feel good about themselves.  When I give attention to the details of my children, oh how they smile and feel treasured.  Like making a sandwich.  Do I throw out a regular sandwich and plop the first veggie that I see on their plate?  When I make a sandwich that I would even like, cut it into triangles for them, get a fruit cup and make sure that the veggie is one they like, they giggle, they eat and it reduces the amount of fighting over eating their plate. 

My boys are learning from me how to treat others and how to serve.  What are they learning from me?   My life is not my own, it is God’s.  He has the power to make interruptions in my life or prevent them.  How can I be irritated when God has ordained the interruptions so I can learn to be more selfless?   When I rise in the morning, I think part of my prayer should include asking for help to handle interruptions so I can show God’s love to my boys, to others who call me on the phone, to those who need something, to my husband and to myself.  One thing I know, life’s interruptions will always come.  May I handle them wisely.

Leave a Reply

